Agriculture > All Agriculture > ANR-0340

Soils of Alabama
Charles Mitchell
Free to View, Download, or Print

Pages / Length: 2
Publication Date: 07/10/2008

Alabama has several major soil areas. Detailed soil surveys, available for most counties, show that each area has several major soil series. A soil series is a part of the landscape with similarities among its properties such as color, texture, arrangement of soil horizons, and depth to bedrock. In this two-page publication you will find descriptions of—plus a U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resources Conservation Service map—the seven soil areas of Alabama: limestone valleys and uplands, blackland prairie, coastal plain, major flood plains and terraces, coastal marshes and beaches, Appalachian plateau, and Piedmont plateau.